The shrine of knowledge.

Jnana Indriyas

(Jnana means knowing. It is not that this will directly tell you about Yoga in relation to the Indriyas, but will help to awareness of what is behind those senses.

Jnana Indriyas is described in multiple online sources, as addition to our editors' articles, see section below for printable documents, Jnana Indriyas books and related discussion.

Suggested Pdf Resources

The Five Sheaths from the Moksha Gita
The Manomaya Kosha consists of the mind and the five Jnana Indriyas. It is a means of enjoying pleasure and pain.
Mind--Its Mysteries and Control
with seventeen Tattvas, viz., five Karma-Indriyas, five Jnana-Indriyas, five Pranas, Mind and. Buddhi.
YOGA (84)
(ii) The five Jnana Indriyas - eyes, ears, nose, tongue and the skin. ▪ their role in sensory perception.
0711 Newsletter
Jul 4, 2011 1) The five organs of knowledge (Jnana Indriya): Sight, Hearing,. Taste, Touch & Smell.

Suggested News Resources

The three states of wakefulness
Then the Jiva leaves his position in the eyes (Netra-sthana), and descends to the heart.

Suggested Web Resources

Indriyas - The Ten Senses
Indriyas are the means or senses.) Jnanendriyas: The five entrance doors are the five cognitive senses, which are called jnanendriyas. (Jnana means knowing.
Sense Organs - The Indriyas
In yoga, the sense organs are known as indriyas.
The Mandukya Upanishad - Lessons on the Upanishads - Chapter 7
These five mentioned are called senses of knowledge, or jnana indriyas.
Samkhya Principles of Manifestation
Chapter 26
Mind is a consolidated Indriya. Indriya is mind in manifestation.

Great care has been taken to prepare the information on this page. Elements of the content come from factual and lexical knowledge databases, library and third-party sources. We appreciate your suggestions and comments on further improvements of the site.

Discussion Forum
Preston Nichols
Place for your opinion