The shrine of knowledge.


Pranidhana is described in multiple online sources, as addition to our editors' articles, see section below for printable documents, Pranidhana books and related discussion.

Suggested News Resources

Russian City Bans Yoga, Calling It a Cult
Neither is ishvara pranidhana, the surrender to God (part of step two). What happened? Around the turn of the 20th century—as described by Mark Singleton, Stephanie Syman, and other historians—yoga encountered the West, both in America and in an ...
Where yoga is still about spirituality—not detox smoothies and perfect bodies
And there is a whole lot of other examples, such as Tapa (austerity, discipline), swadhyaya (self-study), Iswara pranidhana (surrendering to the higher self, in a way), or unconditional love.
Chopra Addiction and Wellness Blog: The Eight Limbs of Yoga – Niyamas
Ishwara–Pranidhana, the fifth Niyama, is surrender to the Divine. When we have awareness and faith in a power greater than ourselves, the Divine Presence, we begin to see that Presence not only in ourselves, but also in everyone and everything around us.
Reviewing book two of Patanjali's Yoga Sutras, part one
The third kriya Patanjali discusses in the first 18 sutras of book two is isvara pranidhana, which means surrender to God. The yogi should dedicate everything that he/she does to God.
Yoga beyond asanas: PM Modi, Ramdev need to get rid of their biases to become
In the 8 step path of Patanjali yoga, the highest states include that of Ishvara Pranidhana that is to be able to understand God. A fickle mind that cannot understand its own self can also not understand God. 3.

Great care has been taken to prepare the information on this page. Elements of the content come from factual and lexical knowledge databases, library and third-party sources. We appreciate your suggestions and comments on further improvements of the site.

Discussion Forum
Mike Krzyzewski
Place for your opinion